energyman logo GIF Energy Efficiency


House energy rating through the Nationwide House Energy Rating Scheme (NatHERS) uses computer simulations to assess the potential thermal comfort of Australian homes on a scale of zero to 10 stars.

The more stars, the less likely the occupants need cooling or heating to stay comfortable.


What is rated?

A dwelling can be rated before or after it is built. The rating depends on:

  • the layout of the home
  • the construction of its roof, walls, windows and floor
  • the orientation of windows and shading to the sun’s path and local breezes
  • how well these suit the local climate


ENERGYMAN provides energy efficiency ratings and documentation for new 6 Star energy ratings for residential dwellings, deemed-to-satisfy (DTS) energy efficiency documentation for residential dwellings contained in the Building Codes of Australia (BCA) Part 3.12.1 and energy efficiency analysis of existing residential dwellings.


ENERGYMAN also provides energy efficiency documentation for commercial buildings under the J Section of the BCA that covers Class 5-9 buildings and NABERS ratings for Class 5 buildings.


BCA section JBCA section J overview

BCA section J energy efficiency is the section of the Building Code of Australia which addresses the energy efficiency requirements for class 2 to 9 buildings in the BCA. The provisions addressed in the BCA section J are applicable to elements of building fabric, services, lighting, glazing, sealing and controls.


BCA section J report

A BCA section J report is compiled in order to demonstrate a building’s compliance with the requirements of the BCA section J energy efficiency provisions. If some elements of the building design don’t satisfy the requirements of the BCA section J, those areas are detected and addressed in the report appropriately and corrective advice to bring the building within the compliance limits are provided.


ENERGYMAN assessors are accredited

  • First Rate 5
  • BERS Pro
  • AccuRate

and can provide expert opinion on energy efficiency for residential and commercial buildings covering Class 1, Class 2, Class 4 and Class 5-9 under the BCA (NCC-National Construction Code).